New South Wales Council of Freshwater Anglers
Fostering a sustainable freshwater fishery

Photo courtesy of members of Bass Sydney

JoinWelcome to the website of the
NSW Council of Freshwater Anglers
The NSW CFA is the largest and most active freshwater fishing organisation in Australia. Since 1958 it has been the recognised representative body for the State's freshwater anglers, focusing on fisheries management, conservation and regulatory matters, angler access, angling ethics, animal welfare and politics. It harnesses the energy and local knowledge of regional groups and represents their freshwater angling interests to the government and to the public.


This website was developed with the financial assistance of the NSW Government's Department of Lands and Office of Rural Affairs. We are also grateful to members of Bass Sydney, Canberra Fisherman's Club, Cooma Trout Acclimatisation Association and Philip Weigall for the photographs used throughout the website.
© Copyright NSW Council of Freshwater Anglers 2011.




   Member organisations
   Executive Council
   About the NSW CFA
   Recent Achievements
  Become a member
   Dates and locations, notices and minutes
   Free subscription
   Recent editions

   Sydney Fly Outfitters & Guiding NSWCFA Fly-fishing Meet
   Native Fish Strategy (presentation by Charlie Carruthers,
   I&I NSW Native Fish Strategy Coordinator)

   NSW CFA's submission to Recreational Fishing Inquiry

   News items
   Notice regarding support of applications for funding

Other organisations and links
   Regulations and licences (NSW DPI)
   Recreational Fishing Alliance of NSW

  National Code of Practice for Recreational Fishing

Click to view our Freshwater Fishing Safety video

The NSW Council of Freshwater Anglers is a member of the Recreational Fishing Alliance of NSW


The NSW will soon provide a complete guide to freshwater fishing in NSW...the first sections are already available:

CFA Region 1: North Coast and Ranges

CFA Region 2: Sydney and Central

CFA Region 3 and 4:Southern Highlands and South Coast, ACT, Monaro and Snowy Mountains

CFA Region 5: Central West

CFA Region 6: South West

sunriseMembers of the NSW Council of Freshwater Anglers       ACT Fly Fishers; Anglers Action Group (Sydney Northside); The Barrington Club; Bass Kempsey; Bass Sydney; Big River Bass Fly Fishing Club; Canberra Anglers' Association; Canberra Fisherman's Club; Central Coast Flyrodders; Council of Southern Districts Angling Clubs; Fly Fish Bathurst; Greenwells Fly Fishing Club; Hawkesbury Nepean Bass Anglers' Association; Hunter Native Fish; Illawarra Fly Fishers; Lakeside Fly Fishing Club; Mid North Coast Flyrodders; Monaro Acclimatisation Society (includes Adaminaby Branch, Bombala Branch, Braidwood Fishing Club, Delegate Branch, Kydra/Kybean Branch, Anembo Anglers Club, Cabramurra Fishing Club, Cooma Trout Acclimatisation Association, Dalgety Branch, Khancoban Angling Club, Nimmitabel Branch, Tumbarumba Branch, Waterfall Farm Fishing Club, Queanbeyan Anglers Club, Tumut Branch, Upper Goodradigbee Branch, Yass Branch, Jindabyne Branch, Talbingo Branch); New England Trout Acclimatisation Society; New South Wales Rod Fishers' Society; New South Wales Coarse Angling Research Club; Orange Trout Acclimatisation Society; Professional Fishing Instructors & Guides Association; Scone Amateur Fishing Club; Singleton Fly Fishing Club; Singleton Flyrodders Association; Southern Bass Fishing Club; Springwood Fishing Club; Sydney Fly Rodders; Sydney Coarse Anglers; The Lakes; Vikings Fishing Club; Wingham Anglers.